Tags

, , , , , , ,

I woke up before the sun kissed the sky and stretched my lethargic limbs, aware that there was more of me than before. I had been literally feeding my soul and it was catching up to me in inches; sharp angles had given way to gentle curves that had begun hanging around my mid-section carefully concealed by my super soft PJs.  Silk against your skin is not only luxurious but deceptively forgiving and I loathed getting out of my slippery pajamas.

Image courtesy of Keerati / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Keerati / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I had always preferred an organic approach to fitness, preferring to engage in jogging, hiking and swimming, and not to mention dashing across department stores in stilettos. As a result, I was more thin than fit. It was time to give my body a good rinse, my abs a little more definition and by butt a little more lift. Work out gear in tow I meandered out to the lobby, the day concierge gave me a smile, “Morning Natasha.” I’m sure he was relishing the quiet.  At 6 a.m. the building was just starting to wake-up, by eight it would be a zoo. On a typical morning Grand Central had nothing on this lobby where nannies, maids and other service people were constantly being signed in and out, packages and dry cleaning delivered several times a day, and residents loitered the lobby impatiently waiting for the valet to bring round their car or their cab to pull-up.

I smiled indulgently waiting for my ride. It would have done me good to walk to the gym but instead giving into my lethargy I opted for a cab. Armand had sworn by this place and despite my aversion to regimented fitness I decided to give it a try. Apprehensively, I ventured into the land of one percent body fat, otherwise known as, The Sports Club/LA Boston.

Situated next to the Ritz Carlton the club has spectacular views, state-of-the-art equipment, a spa and a plethora of classes. I started with a cardio class called Tread & Shred. That was enough to leave me panting like a hyena. I decided to recharge with a Nutty Java Blast Smoothie from their onsite café before moving on to a strength and definition class to finish my workout and head for the showers. Never had hot water felt so good against my skin. At around mid-day I was about to call it a morning when a very sweaty Armand waved at me. He had just finished a squash match with his friend, a hunky blonde, and invited me to lunch. “Give us ten minutes,” he said “to freshen up.”

After a workout like that, how could I say no to lunch especially at Blu (the clubs onsite restaurant).

Image courtesy of supakitmod / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of supakitmod / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

During the day Blu is spacious and airy with floor-to-ceiling windows that give it a spectacular view of Boston. At night when the restaurant is draped in its signature blue lighting the effect is breathtaking and the food is always marvelous. I am one of those rare individuals that can entertain themselves for hours just by reading menus.  As I sat sipping my sparkling water I considered my options. My mouth began to water and I hoped my handsome dates wouldn’t be too long. Not to worry, before I knew it Armand had emerged from the shower with hair that looked like it had been blow dried tornado style.

“Hungry eyes,” he said when he noticed me clenching my menu.

“Hope we didn’t keep you waiting,” said his friend Dominick as he took the seat next to me.

Dominick had soft blonde hair cut military style and steely grey eyes that were tempered by a generous smile and a rich voice. It was a voice that I could get used to listening to and luckily he liked to talk especially about his and Armand’s days in military school.

I tried not to choke laughing as I sipped sparkling water and munched on polenta fries and a grilled shrimp salad.  Every now and then when he thought I wasn’t looking Armand would reach over and steal one my fries as if his huge lobster roll wasn’t enough.  My only regret was that after a workout like that, how could I get dessert? With much resolve I shut the menu before I could indulge in the kahlua tiramisu or the cinnamon crème brulee.

Image courtesy of Praisaeng / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Praisaeng / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I spent the better part of the day running errands and when I came home I could feel the effectiveness of my workout in my muscles and in my limbs. With no plans for the evening I decided to take a dip in the Jacuzzi on the roof of my building. I sat staring at the night sky soaking in the steamy waters and letting the spa jets work their magic on my muscles. In the background I could hear the rhythmic swish of someone swimming laps in our pool. I didn’t even notice the sound until it had stopped and then I noticed the sudden quiet. Out of the blue water emerged a perfectly chiseled Greek God…my Greek God from across the hall. Walking by he gave me a smile that would melt chocolate. Who says we need to skip dessert?

Next Post: Feb. 28

