Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was munching on Eastern Standard’s late night menu, all the things I had promised to give up – fried calamari and mussels with tomatoes, herbs and garlic, and deviled eggs…divine! It was almost midnight and after spending an evening dancing my ass off, I was starving.  I looked over at Rumi, he had already ordered a burger and I was tentatively eyeing the grilled cheese sandwich – knowing full well that Casey would likely mooch off my fries. I didn’t want to look like a complete oink in front of everyone and especially Mel.

Image courtesy of KEKO64 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of KEKO64 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Sitting in the lobby of my building, thinking of Grams, I had found a friend (Mel) – a friend who detested working out as much as I did. We had both been waiting for a cab for what seemed like an inordinate amount of time and had made a bet on whose cab would arrive the latest.

“I need to get a car,” I sighed, “or start taking public transportation.”

Mel nodded in agreement. “I even take the cab to my gym and it’s only a couple blocks away,” she replied and that’s when we had our first, me too moment, that led to a shared cab and several more, me toos. Before I knew it we were getting pedicures and planning a night out. Melanie was a fashion editor with a body every model would die for who also loved to dance. She suggested we check out Illumina’s (iXPERIA) concert at House of Blues. Mel brought her boyfriend Nikhail. I brought Casey and reluctantly my brother Rumi. After the concert we were all famished. I looked at Mel who without hesitation ordered a burger with everything on it. Sin loves company; I thought caving into my appetites and ordering a decadent grilled cheese.

Image courtesy of ponsuwan / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of ponsuwan / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Take your standard rave with dance and techno music add a touch of Cirque du Soleil and a dash of Blue Man Group and you get a high energy concert with laser show and acrobatics.  My ears were still buzzing and the wiring in my head felt a little different especially sitting at the lounge area at Eastern Standard. The place had subdued, sophisticated ambiance with jazz playing in the background marble top tables, leather sofa and outdoor heated patio.

The crowd here is always diverse, especially given its location which is steps from Boston University and a stone’s throw from downtown and the Fenway and next to the Commonwealth Hotel. I sat back and with a content smile on my face commiserating the era for which this place was designed, when I caught a whisper of Gram’s ghost. Suddenly, I could see Nikhail, with his dark looks, dressed in a suit and fedora and Mel looking equally glamorous in a gown. Hidden in the shadows I could picture a dangerous looking gangster, his face concealed by his hat casing the joint while puffing on a cigar. I could even smell his Cuban.

I was brought back to the present by the smell of food…our very gourmet fast food had arrived and it was enough to scare away the past.

Next Post: March 15

