Tags

, , , , , ,

There are few sensations that can match the feeling of flying. Yet here I was flying and underwater at that. Suddenly, what was down had become up. I was immersed in a city riding alongside killer whales and tropical fish within a bottomless ocean. The water was all around me and yet I had no need of air. I watched enchanted. If only it were a dream but it was something better, for my mind was sound and my feet firmly on the ground staring at the dome shaped screen before me.

Image courtesy of khunaspix / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of khunaspix / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

No sooner had the movie finished than I longed go back to the Mugar Omni Theater. I became hooked a long time ago to these surreal voyages when Grams started taking as a gangly youth to the Museum of Science. Today it was not Grams, but my brother Rumi who was leading me around the Mos. He was like a kid in a candy store. In fact the Museum of Science was a huge playground for kids of all ages. Today in his scruffy jeans, trendy shirt and too long hair he reminded me of a kid more than ever and of course he picked the grossest exhibits. Geek that he was we checked out GROSSOLOGY: The (Impolite) Science of the Human Body, Beyond the X-Ray which lets you Explore some of the many non-invasive ways doctors look into the human body and of course my favorite the butterfly garden. I could sit here for hours in this tropical solarium with butterflies flying all around me.

We ended our day right around the corner with dinner at Helmand. Rumi friend Philip was planning on joining us. When we got there a small colorfully dressed kid whose friends had nicknamed Prince was waiting for us. Prince was wearing a fuchsia shirt and tight jeans with suede shoes. Prince was a theater major that Rumi had met in his creative writing class and they had hit it off. It was Prince that recommended the Helmand and someone with great taste in food is always welcome at my table.

Image courtesy of zole4 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of zole4 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

We started with some appetizers, Aushak (Afghan ravioli filled with leeks and scallions, served on yogurt-mint topped with ground beef sauce) and Banjan (Pan-fried eggplant seasoned with spices, then baked with fresh tomatoes, served on yogurt garlic mint sauce), which I can only describe as an amalgam of delicate spices. Prince turned out to have a great sense of humor and I nearly snorted couscous up my nose, while munching on my entrée, the Morgh Salsata (boneless breast of chicken, marinated then grilled, served on mixed green salad with grilled vegetables and vinaigrette dressing). We finished dinner with some, oh so sweet baklava, after which I said goodbye to Rumi and Prince as they headed out for a night on the town and I went back to my apartment.

As I went back to my apartment I couldn’t help stare at the door across the hall. The comings and goings of my hot neighbor Javier had become noticeably scarce. I listened hard, my ear pressed against his door and I considered knocking and saying “hi’ if only to share an extra piece of baklava but the coldness of the metal only made be retreat into my own warmly lit kitchen.

Next Post: Sept. 15

