Tags

, , ,

Having spent almost an eternity at Harvard, Casey had just discovered the Arnold Arboretum in Jamaica Plain. On an early weekend morning it was Casey that pulled us up by the scruffs or our necks to visit a seven mile network of parks and parkways, that is a key link in the Emerald necklace.

Image courtesy of Sira Anamwong / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Sira Anamwong / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I was waiting in the lobby when I spotted a fire engine red convertible pull-up. Casey sat in the driver’s seat looking like tres vintage Hollywood, wearing designer sunglasses and a scarf around her hair. It was still early when we reached the main entrance. Casey got out of a car she was wearing an airy white Philip Lim maxi dress with a scoop neck and gathered at the waist, sandals and looking like the embodiment of summer. Armand was waiting for us at the entrance. He had that classic prep look wearing a polo shirt over khaki shorts, flip-flops and designer sunglasses looking like he had just taken a break from sailing for a walk in the park. The Arboretum’s living collection of trees, shrubs, and woody vines is recognized as one of the most comprehensive and best documented of its kind in the world and occupies 281 acres of land.

I felt the warm summer breeze caress my skin as we stepped inside. The wide path stemming from the main entrance reminded me of the yellow brick road and at any time you could venture off to one of the side paths taking you deeper into the forest area, armed with comfortable shoes I felt ready to fall off the main road – a metaphor for life. We were rewarded by finding mini-gardens, gazebos and little ponds that gave us time to rest, rehydrate and snack before moving on. By the time noon hit Casey was carrying her sandals in her hands and looking like she wanted to limp back to the car. I was glad for my comfortable lacy Merrels. I have not always appreciated practical shoes but today I was glad I had been nice to my feet. My phoned pinged…it was a message from Mel, “dancing till dawn tonight?

Hopefully they would forgive me when I traded them in for some seriously dangerous heels.

Next Post: Nov. 15

