Tags

, , ,

We had just finished working out at the Tennis and Racquet club, and I had just stated my intention to drown myself in chocolate, while both Dominick and Armand looked at me slightly aghast. I must admit in the past I have tried to drown my sorrows in decadence but this time, “I was not on the brink of a meltdown,” I assured them. This month’s tea, at Casey’s request I might add, had been switched in favor of dessert. Given the amount of dessert she was planning to have, she was trying to drown something. I, on the other hand, was sane enough to be watching what I eat in preparation for it. My favorite word today was going to be, binge.

ID-10050749_candy

It sounds crazy but I had spent the last two days nibbling like an anorexic supermodel in preparation for an afternoon filled with dessert at Café Fleuri (located at The Langham Hotel) and I planned to be completely inhibited in my chocolate bliss.

“Do I need to be jealous?” Domnick asked.

“Not in a million years.” I said. My love affair with chocolate only strengthened my other relationships.

I had always loved the Langham. It was on its second life but this only added to its charm. The property was built originally as the Federal Reserve Bank in 1922 in Renaissance Revival style making it a national architectural landmark. The bank was re-born in 1981 as the opulent Langham Hotel, located in the heart of Boston overlooking Post Office Square and sporting one of the best dessert buffets in the city.

I arrived at chocolate heaven wearing a white short sleeved sweater over fitted jeans and a chunky necklace, the girls were waiting for me. Casey was dressed was elegant but casual a cashmere over sized sweater in heather grey, while Mel was wearing a three quarter leg sweater in a rich burgundy that fitted snugly and flared out at the hips over a shiny silk camisole. Rukhsana auntie was in a dusty lavender designer suit.  Of course the first thing Rukhsana auntie did when we all arrived was order tea. I had to agree. I always found tea to be a nice light accompaniment to dessert. We started on the chocolate bar. Some of the delights included:

Dense Chocolate Cake with Raspberries

Black Forrest Varrine

Mango, White Chocolate and Chili Parfait

Creme Fraiche & Bitter Chocolate Trifle

Manjari Chocolate and Gruyere Tart

Spiced Chocolate Shot

Mandarin Cremeax with Mousse

Milk Chocolate with Blackberry Cremeax

Milk Chocolate and Caramel Tart

White Chocolate Mousse with Caramelized Pineapple

Image courtesy of Simon Howden at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Simon Howden at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

We were like kids on in a candy store licking our fingers and nibbling on each other’s food. I took a taste of Mel’s mousse which was divine, and she couldn’t help but take a nibble from my raspberry petite four. Since, I was wearing white, I was desperately hoping I would be able to keep dessert off my clothes, but even if I didn’t would be well worth it to consume a milk chocolate and caramel tart. I got a text from Dominick.

“Having fun?”

“Chocolate infested euphoria,” I replied.

Next Post: May 15

