Tags

, , , ,

My feet ached…my brain ached and my mind was racing at a mile a minute. Casey had drafted me into helping entertain her twin niece and nephew, Hayden and Pierce.  This is more of a job for Rumi, I wanted to say but alas my brother was in New York for the weekend and  a friend in need is a friendwell, you get the point.

Image courtesy of sattva at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of sattva at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

The twins matched each other in looks and temperament with fine ash blonde hair (like Casey’s) that Hayden wore in pigtails and Pierce wore cropped short with bangs.  I love it when children come in sets. I smiled when I saw Casey with the two critters. As soon as they saw me, I was bombarded with questions. It reminded me of when someone’s pet bowls you over the first time they meet you. The two were a force.

“How about the Harvard Museum of Natural History,” Casey suggested.

“Brilliant idea.”

I’m always up for a museum and I was sure that they would love the Great Mammal Hall with its huge giraffe and caribou and deer that made you feel like you had fallen into a scene from,  Honey I Shrunk the Kids.  Another kiddie favorite might be the Africa Gallery where you  find displayed  of African wildlife collected over a century ago and rare animals from the island of Madagascar.

Hayden and Pierce loved both these exhibits and they even liked my favorite, The Glass Flowers created by the glass artisans, Leopold Blaschka and his son, Rudolf.  I could stare at these flowers for ages. Unfortunately, the twins could not stand anywhere for more than thirty seconds. As much as I loved museums running after two seven year old all day long had taken its toll. I wondered if Rumi and I were that rambunctious when we were kids. “More,” I could hear Grams say. I was done for the day.

Image courtesy of tiverylucky at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of tiverylucky at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I got home; I kicked off my shoes and fell into a cozy arm chair. I knew how I wanted to spend the rest of my evening. I wanted greasy pizza and a good chick flick. I wanted to sink into the bubbliest bath ever with Mocha Almond Fudge ice-cream. I was all ready, phone in hand, to call the pizza guy when I got an IM from Mel.

“What are you doing?”

“I’m going to crash in front of the tube.”

“How boring…”

“Not really, I have 500 channels.”

“Come join us at The Bristol,” she said. “I’ll make it worth your while.”

Next Post: July 15

