Tags

, , ,

Sometimes you don’t know what’s missing from your life until you’ve found it. For me this epiphany came from Dominick –  movie buff that he is. I love music. In the words of Plato, “Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.” Hence the symphony and I are solemnly connected…yet I still had to see this softer side in my guy.

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I had been nagging Dominick to go to the symphony with me for months and finally he had relented saying he thought it might be pretty cool to try Film Night. Don’t get me wrong I have bought countless soundtracks – my lonely nights drawer is filled with them. I have never listened to a film score at Symphony Hall. Well, it’s not like me to turn down a night at the symphony especially if it’s an event created by Boston Pops Laureate Conductor John Williams who has scored over seventy five films including the greats such as, Star Wars, Indiana Jones, E.T., Jaws and Harry Potter. Where have you been all my life.

I met Dominick in the lobby of Symphony Hall  wearing a fitted Tattoo Jacquard knit sheath that ended four inches above my knee and sleek knee high boots. I spotted Dominick across a crowd of people. He was wearing burgundy turtleneck under a sixties style black corduroy blazer. The combination worked with his fair hair and complexion giving it warmth. He smiled and took my hand as we found our seats.

Listening to the score I got flashbacks of the movies they represented – but it was more than that. I surged far above the earth. I was transported to a different plane, one in which I could touch the stars and glimpse the heavens.

Next Post: Nov. 15

