Tags

, , , , ,

Once upon a time, I went to a ball and like Cinderella when I came home, my feet killed, my hair looked like a bird’s nest and my make-up looked like I had slept in it – but it was all worth it.

We were Armand’s guests at Mass General Hospital’s Storybook Ball held at the Park Plaza Castle (The Castle). The gala was is very upscale and getting ready for it was a whirlwind of dresses, shoes and accessories.  My short hair had been curled into a cute little updo and I was wearing a sequined cowl back gown in navy blue by Badgley Mischka with sapphire diamond drop earrings and a matching bracelet.

Image courtesy of iosphere at FreeDigitalPhots.net

Image courtesy of iosphere at FreeDigitalPhots.net

Melanie had nailed the look of Hollywood royalty  wearing a halter cowlneck satin gown by  Alexander McQueen in bright red. She wore her long blonde hair open and flowing down in wavy tresses. She owned the red carpet along dashing and dark featured Nikhail. Casey was flying solo tonight and came with myself and Dominic, but she was ever the princess in a delicate Dona Faille Column Gown in a pale coral. I had always been slightly uncomfortable at gala events but with my friends at my side and Dominick’s hand in mine,  I felt strangely incubated. Casey could identify almost anyone on sight and Mel had the dish on anyone who was anyone.

At the ball a strange thing happened, I was so nervous I couldn’t eat. Dominic took this opportunity to lead me on to the dance floor where we danced the night away. At dawn’s early light, the five of us found ourselves staggering home group our eyelids as heavy as cement, fighting off dawn’s early light.

Next Post: Jan. 15

